13 April 2015 — #sketchaday, #sketchbookskool, #StarWarsEMP

sketch of Storm Trooper

 

I took myself on an sketch outing today to the Experience Music Project in Seattle. The EMP is a quirky and wonderful museum which is half music, and half things like science fiction, fantasy, and horror. I love the place. I spent a lot of time at the travelling exhibit for Star Wars costumes. It was interesting and a special challenge as I had to sketch while lots of people were going by and taking photos. I may share some more of these sketches over the next few days. I also met a news photographer from New York City who asked my permission to take a photo of me sketching Darth Vader. She is going to email me the photo she took. If she gives me permission to share it, I will share it with you.

The best part was listening and watching people as I sketched. Many of us felt like we were meeting people we had known for a long time, almost like meeting an aunt or uncle who you only know from photos. I enjoyed myself thoroughly, and will be going back to the museum to sketch again. I had to do this standing and more quickly than I would prefer, but I feel like it captures the essence. My nerdy little brain is on overload tonight. Sketching and storm troopers and Star Wars, oh my!

Comments are awesome! I'd love to hear them (but if you're only here to be a troll, please go back to your cave)

