12 April 2015 — #sketchaday, #sketchbookskool

sketch of Chuck Berry

 

I did a whole bunch of experiments today. Some of them were using diluted ink or gouache inside of guidelines made by blue painter’s tape. This is one of those. I called it twisted because I have been sketching without pencil guidelines first and I somehow didn’t get the picking hand anywhere near the guitar strings because I was working my way around the figure. Oops! I still like the drawing and the effect of the color blocks. I love Chuck Berry and classic rock and roll so it’s nice to have that commemorated in my sketchbook.

I also tried using gouache through a stencil with watercolor over and then ink. The gouache is supposed to resist the watercolor and make a cool background but it only sort of worked. I think I’ll try it again, but for now that wasn’t the most successful test. Live and learn, and keep experimenting!

Comments are awesome! I'd love to hear them (but if you're only here to be a troll, please go back to your cave)

