8 February 2015 — #sketchaday, #sketchbookskool

Sketch of dog on gray paper from a photo

 

Today is one of my days off, so I’ve spent a lovely day doing art and drinking coffee. I’ve done lots of sketches, but I wanted today’s post to be this one. I’m showing two pictures here. This is the sketch I did of the photo on a greeting card, done on gray paper with hatch marks. I have been wanting to try the gray paper. It came out really cool, but the reason I tried the gray paper is I wanted to experiment using both black AND white pen in a drawing with the gray creating contrast. I’ve messed things up mid-drawing before, so I took this photo before I added the white. I think it’s important to be fearless when creating art because you can learn a lot from experiment. I proceeded to add in the white. I’m not sure if I like it better, or if the original was nicer, but it certainly changed it around. If you want to weigh in, let me know in the comments. I’m just delighted it actually looks like a dog. Even though I’m more of cat person, I could not resist this cute photo.

Sketch of a dog in black and white ink on gray paper from a photograph

Comments are awesome! I'd love to hear them (but if you're only here to be a troll, please go back to your cave)

