17 January 2015 — #sketchbookskool, #sketchaday

Sketch in Starbucks

 

It started with a paint splotch that got out of control. I had a stressful week, and I went to Starbucks after work to sketch. This is my second sketch of the day. The other was also drawings of things in Starbucks. I was coloring this one in with the watercolors, and I got a giant red puddle under the guy in the middle, so I spread it out and gave the guy legs. That made me laugh, so I started altering all the other figures. I like weird, and I like cartoons, so this was a natural result of that. I’d already gotten practice sketching what I saw (and of course I saw the rest of it in my mind’s eye. I just let it out for you to see, too.)

I also learned a few other things from this sketch. I learned that even if the people I drew didn’t always look like the real people, they sketched people were interesting on their own. This is good, because people move a lot when you are sitting and sketching! I also learned that sometimes it’s fun to just hint at something–I didn’t feel like drawing an exact replica of the paper cup, but I drew the boxes and added green to hint at the branding. I think this won’t be my last silly sketch. How could it be? I can be a very silly person, and I think that’s a good thing.

Comments are awesome! I'd love to hear them (but if you're only here to be a troll, please go back to your cave)

