8 January 2015 — #sketchbookskool, #sketchaday

sketch of fake flower spray

 

I drew something inside the apartment again. It’s cold and I didn’t feel like leaving the house. It happens. You get an introvert who works from home, and sometimes the tendency is to stay indoors for a few days. I attempted shading with pen on this one to show the roundness of the vase and the red balls. I even added a few white highlights on the vase where I saw the light. I tried to do it by observation (always a good plan) but I also really would like to learn more about hatching. I like the look, but I don’t really know what I’m doing. If anyone reading this knows of a good book or online resource, I’d love a recommendation in the comments. On the plus side, the sketch captures the vibrancy of this spray, and that’ why I keep it around. I also love this vase, too. Blue glass rocks. Another day, another sketch. I’m enjoying myself. I’m also excited (and nervous!) about week two of Sketchbook Skool. It starts tomorrow and Koosje Koene is the teacher. I don’t really know her work, so it’s a grand adventure. I had fun with Danny Gregory‘s lessons, and now I’m going to expand my knowledge again. I’m so glad I did this for myself.

Comments are awesome! I'd love to hear them (but if you're only here to be a troll, please go back to your cave)

